Rory's Medication

Rory Fans ~ New members checkout updated forum rules.. here before posting please
Forum rules
styles/rules.png

LOOSE TALK ~ Moderator Team..
Cynthia Armento (RobertaSparrow) (USA) John Ganjamie (roryfan) (USA) JJ Joyce (Jay Jay) (UK) Jim Petrover (JimLED) (Ukraine).
© RORY GALLAGHER LOOSE TALK 2013

Rory's Medication

Postby Tom Jonas » 01 Feb 2014, 21:47

I am a physician.
And I have always wondered what induced Rory's liver failure besides alcohol? It seems incredible to me if colleque physicians in Britain prescribed drugs that enhanced the destruction of the liver. But I realise that this is a sensitive issue.
And I have no hesitation to understand a use of some tranquilizers when playing for a crowd of 10 000 people. I would have done that myself.
Tom Jonas

Re: Rory's Medication

Postby RobertaSparrow » 02 Feb 2014, 12:43

Prescription strength acetaminophen/paracetamol. In the 90's they didn't have all those warnings on the boxes either. Most people don't even think twice about taking that stuff when they have a headache or aches and pains. It's in all kinds of over-the-counter stuff, too. Have a cold? Take an over-the-counter cold pill, maybe wash it down with a glass of wine? In addition to whatever form the doctors were prescribing. Professional guitarists are prone to nerve and ligament injuries in their wrists and hands- I noticed in some photos Rory had what appeared to be an elastic wrist band on his left wrist. Paracetamol doesn't upset the stomach like aspirin. Plain OTC paracetamol doesn't have any kind of narcotic, not habit forming- hell, they give it to babies. Maybe Rory thought, one or two extra would help those aches and pains. Toss a couple back with a beer. How bad can it be if it doesn't even upset your stomach?
RobertaSparrow

Postby Jay Jay » 02 Feb 2014, 12:59

Tom Jonas wrote:I am a physician.