Rory's guitar sound 1973-ish

Well, that song she's humming, could make my guitar start strumming?

Rory's guitar sound 1973-ish

Postby Andersen28 » 05 May 2014, 21:49

Hi fellow guitar players!

I'm a guitar student at the Academy of music in Aalborg, Denmark, and at the moment I'm doing an assignment in Music History on Rory Gallagher (of course) :D
I'm supposed to analyze a few songs and one out of 4 is Walk on Hot Coals. But compaired to lets say, What's Going On that I've also done, his guitar sound in Walk on Hot Coals is quite "thin". It's certainly overdriven, but not near as much as most of the Taste stuff or his late 70's stuff. I'm wondering if it's the change from his Vox AC30 to the Fender Bassman? What do you guys think?

His sound was also rather "thin" on the Tattoo album and it's actually quite a mystery to me why his sound was so different on those two albums. The albums are great but why did he go from overdriven to this almost clean sound?

Best Regards :)
Andersen28

Re: Rory's guitar sound 1973-ish

Postby JimLED » 05 May 2014, 23:04

Hi Andersen28!

I think he got a lot of amps for doing his sound researches. And from year to year he tried to invent or find something new for next recordings. Just imho. That''s Rory we're all know! :)
Every gun makes its own tune.. Image
After a meal there's nothing like a good cigar.
JimLED

Postby Leedelta » 09 May 2014, 15:45

There is a chance he switched to a tele for this tune.

Another factor is the years between the songs and recording studios etc. It is like comparing photographs in different time periods.

Another question..since you are in Aalborg, have you seen Uffe Steen playing?
Leedelta

Postby paddywarde » 05 Mar 2015, 13:38