Ginger Baker RIP. Taste toured with Cream in USA

№1 RORY FORUM PAGE. For Rory Gallagher. Discuss Rory related things with respect always!

Re: Ginger Baker RIP. Taste toured with Cream in USA

Postby Jay Jay » 07 Oct 2019, 10:58

As a drummer myself I can appreciate what a great talent Ginger was.
Although the Cream were never a great Taste of mine musically.

Ginger Baker R.I.P.
Jay Jay

Postby JimLED » 07 Oct 2019, 13:59

R.I.P Mr Baker. :(
I agree with Jay Jay.
Every gun makes its own tune.. Image
After a meal there's nothing like a good cigar.
JimLED

Postby zanny » 08 Oct 2019, 01:52

I wonder whether Rory or Donal witnessed any of the legendary fights between Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker (some of them happened on stage) that reportedly brought Clapton to tears on more than one occasion.

Baker was born before the PC age, back in the day when it was acceptable to nickname a redhaired child 'Ginger'.
I sometimes think about the nicknames of old blues/jazz/booggie-woogie musicians and singers: 'Blind' was common (Lemon Jefferson; Willie McTell; Willie Johnson), and there was 'Blind Boy' (Fuller). Also 'Cripple' (Clarence Lofton) and 'Peg-Leg' (Howell). More recently, 'Fats' (Waller; Domino).
Wouldn't/couldn't happen now!
zanny

Postby RobertaSparrow » 10 Oct 2019, 18:19

Rest in peace Mr. Baker.

zanny wrote:I wonder whether Rory or Donal witnessed any of the legendary fights between Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker (some of them happened on stage) that reportedly brought Clapton to tears on more than one occasion.

Baker was born before the PC age, back in the day when it was acceptable to nickname a redhaired child 'Ginger'.
I sometimes think about the nicknames of old blues/jazz/booggie-woogie musicians and singers: 'Blind' was common (Lemon Jefferson; Willie McTell; Willie Johnson), and there was 'Blind Boy' (Fuller). Also 'Cripple' (Clarence Lofton) and 'Peg-Leg' (Howell). More recently, 'Fats' (Waller; Domino).
Wouldn't/couldn't happen now!